Confessions of a Golf Slut

A 35-year-old career bachelorette decided her dating style needed an overhaul, so she took up golf to meet men on manicured greens instead of in smoky bars. Of course she met men. But she also made friends. And found a new vocation that took her to the most beautiful resorts and most famous courses in the world.

None of it had anything to do with being good at the game.

“Golf slut,” was what she called herself — based on the description comedian Tommy Smothers used lovingly in describing his wife: “will play anywhere, anytime, with anyone.” But as moment after moment unfolded with gifts, lessons, and surprises, she came to realize her relationship with the game transcended labels.

In the memoir Confessions of a Golf Slut: A memoir of life, love and The Game, trailblazing sports journalist Susan Fornoff spins the story of how golf became her warm blanket through the heartbreaking losses of divorce and death, her compass for the hilarious journey of online dating, her guiding light in the murky tunnel of midlife career change.

A poignant but funny golf memoir in the vein of Julie and Julia and Eat, Pray, Love, Confessions of a Golf Slut relates the metaphors of the beloved, centuries-old game in context with human foibles and frailties. Within the narrative framework of the search for love, it addresses universal themes such as self-examination, perseverance, friendship, and, ultimately, forgiveness.

Chick lit, maybe – and for men, surely a peek into the other team’s playbook.

It’s not a spoiler to reveal that the author never masters golf. But her passion for the game will no doubt resonate among the 5 million women in the United States who already play — and inspire those who don’t yet play to pick up a 7-iron and give it a big kiss.

The reviews

“The book almost has a soul unto itself. Each page drips with realism and passion.”San Francisco Book Review

“Will appeal to anyone who has ever lusted for golf’s greenest acres.”Wisconsin Golfer

“The narrator takes up golf in her 30s so that she can meet men outdoors instead of in dark-lit bars, and finds not only a husband but friends, adventures, and an ‘anywhere, anytime, with anyone’ passion for the game and its gifts.” — Florida Golf Central Magazine

“Although any woman would enjoy this book, for women golfers, it’s a must read.” — Gayle Moss, Golfgal blogger

“Susan takes what some may call a stodgy or conservative game and gives it a realness that is rare in this industry.” — Jennifer Harris, High Heel Golfer

“A quick, humorous, and entertaining read.” — Emily Kay, Golf Examiner

“Chasing the little white ball through romance and heartbreak, struggles and triumph, made for a fun read that I couldn’t put down.” … “A fast and fun read.” … “Heart-warming, well-written, full of golf anecdotes, and an incredible saga of online dating.” …  “This book is highly entertaining, filled with a mix of funny, ironic, and tear-producing anecdotes, which left me wanting to play golf with the author.”Amazon Reader Reviews

  • @presidentloh Respect your willingness to listen. You sure you want to retire?
  • @realDonaldTrump Is this your way of inciting more newsroom shootings? Stop insulting the First Amendment protected Fifth Estate please.
  • RT @justinebaseball: The MLB Diversity and Inclusion Department will host a two-day event for women interested in careers in baseball. Only…